Feline cutaneous histoplasmosis: The first case report from Thailand

гистоплазмоз_кошек

Authors: L.Larsuprom et al. (2017)

Histoplasma capsulatum is a dimorphic soil-borne fungus. It forms mycelia in the environment and changes to be a yeast form in the host’s body. It can affect both humans and animals ( and ). Besides, it is the second most reported fungal infection in following cryptococcosis. H. capsulatum grows in soils contaminated with bird or bat droppings. The primary route of infection is inhalation of mycelium from contaminated areas. The endemic areas of H. capsulatum include North, Central, and South America, Africa, India, and Southeast Asia.

The case was a 2-year-old, neutered female domestic shorthaired cat, mostly living indoor but with access to outdoor areas contaminated with a great amount of pigeon feces. She was referred to the Kasetsart University Veterinary Teaching Hospital with a history of multiple papules on surface of the pinnae and nodules on the nose for four months. In addition, a chronic wound was presented on the lateral surface of the left radial area. According to physical examination, the cat had no clinical signs of systemic involvements e.g., gastrointestinal or respiratory signs. On day 0, the general health condition was good, together with pink mucous membrane and normal hydration. Complete blood count and serum chemical profiles were in normal ranges. Serological examination was negative for feline leukemia virus and feline immunodeficiency virus.

Samples from nasal swab and chronic wound area were collected for cytology. The cytological findings demonstrated hypocellularity of intracellular narrow-based budding yeasts with thin wall capsules, indicating fungal infection. Skin biopsy was conducted from the pinnae for histopathology; the results revealed that the samples were positively stained with Periodic Acid Schiff (PAS). The organisms were identified as 2–5 µm in diameter, oval-to-round shape, narrow based budding yeasts in the macrophages. These characteristics were consistent with Histoplasma spp. PCR was performed using extracted DNA from paraffin embedded tissues of the pinnae.

After 10 mg/kg itraconazole was prescribed twice a day, a chronic wound at the left forelimb showed an obvious improvement, and were completely healed within 28 days. This demonstrated that itraconazole at 10 mg/kg twice a day was more efficient than that at 5 mg/kg twice a day. After 35 days of treatment with 10 mg/kg itraconazole twice a day, the cat started to have recurrent skin nodules at the bridge of the nose and both ear pinnae. The recurrence of those lesions might have been caused by an incomplete clearance of infection or development of drug resistance. Subcutaneous injection of amphotericin B at 0.5 mg/kg twice a week was performed, together with itraconazole treatment, resulting in some improvements. Unfortunately, a firm nodule was subsequently developed at the injection site. It was suspected that the firm nodule was caused by either an adverse effect of amphotericin B or an irritation from injection.
This case report confirmed that histoplasmosis could occur in any young cat with a history of contact with contaminated bird feces. Furthermore, histoplasmosis should be considered as a differential diagnosis in cat with chronic skin wounds in endemic areas.

 

The treatment protocol was changed to fluconazole 50 mg PO once a day. Although the number of papules and nodules did not further decreased, no new lesions developed. The cat still ate and had normal daily activities. Subsequently, the owner did not further bring the cat for follow up to the hospital. However, by the phone communication, the owner gave the information that the cat was still stable after a month of fluconazole treatment.

Reference / full text: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2211753917300416#f0005

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Гистоплазмоз кошек: первый случай в Таиланде

гистоплазмоз_кошек

Авторы: L. Larsuprom et al., 2017.

 является диморфным почвенным грибом. Он образует мицелий в окружающей среде и трансформируется в дрожжевую форму в теле хозяина. Гриб может поражать как людей, так и животных (собак и кошек). Кроме того, это вторая наиболее распространенная грибковая инфекция у кошек после криптококкоза. H. capsulatum обитает в почвах, загрязненных пометом птиц или летучих  мышей. Основным путем заражения является ингаляция мицелия с пылью из загрязненных почв. Эндемичные районы H. capsulatum включают Северную, Центральную и Южную Америку, Африку, Индию и Юго-Восточную Азию.

Описание клинического случая

Случай наблюдался у 2-летней, стерилизованной домашней короткошерстной , большей частью живущей в помещении, но с доступом к улицам, загрязненным большим количеством голубиного помета. Кошка поступила на прием с историей нескольких папул и везикул на поверхности носа в течение четырех месяцев. Кроме того, хроническая рана была представлена ​​на боковой поверхности левой ноги. Согласно физическому осмотру, у не было клинических признаков системных патологий, например, желудочно-кишечных или респираторных. В день «0» общее состояние здоровья было хорошим. Полный анализ крови и химические профили сыворотки были в нормальных пределах. Серологическое обследование было отрицательным для вируса кошачьего лейкоза и вируса иммунодефицита кошачьих.

Диагностика гистоплазмоза у кошки

Для цитологии собирали образцы из носа и хронической раны. При цитологическом  исследовании обнаружены внутриклеточные дрожжи с тонкостенными капсулами, что указывало на грибковую инфекцию. Биопсия кожи была проведена из везикулы для гистопатологии; были обнаружены дрожжевые клетки размером 2-5 мкм, овальнай или круглой формы, заключенные в макрофагах. Эти характеристики согласуются с Histoplasma spp. Также провели ПЦР с использованием экстрагированной ДНК из парафинизированных тканей пинны. Результаты выявили 99% гомологию с видом H. capsulatum.

Лечение гистоплазмоза кошки

После введения 10 мг/кг итраконазола два раза в день, хроническая рана левой ноги показала очевидное улучшение и полностью исцелилась в течение 28 дней. Это показало, что итраконазол в дозе 10 мг/кг два раза в день был более эффективным, чем при 5 мг/кг два раза в день. После 35-дневного курса лечения итраконазолом 10 мг/кг два раза в день у кошки появились рецидивные узлы кожи на переносице и обеих ушных раковинах. Повторение этих поражений могло быть вызвано развитием резистентности к лекарственным средствам. Подкожная инъекция амфотерицина В по 0,5 мг/кг два раза в неделю проводилась вместе с обработкой итраконазолом, что приводило к некоторым улучшениям. К сожалению, впоследствии в месте инъекции образовался твердый узел. Предположительно, он был вызван либо неблагоприятным эффектом амфотерицина В, либо раздражением от инъекции. Протокол лечения был изменен на флуконазол 50 мг РО один раз в день. Хотя количество папул и везикул не уменьшилось, новых очагов не развилось. Кошка все еще ела и вела обычный образ жизни. Впоследствии владелец не привел кошку на прием. Однако, по телефону, владелец сообщил, что состояние кошки все еще стабильное после месяца лечения флуконазолом.

Этот случай подтвердил, что может быть диагностирован у любой молодой кошки с историей контакта с зараженными фекалиями птиц. Кроме того, следует учитывать при дифференциальном диагнозе у кошек с хроническими ранами кожи.

Полный текст статьи (англ.): http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2211753917300416#f0005

Related Posts

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *